2016: My year without pants

I, like many other human beings, don’t love wearing pants. On New Year’s eve I joked that 2016 will be the year without pants. I’m 19 days in and so far have successfully evaded anything with buttons, zippers, or clasps.

It’s an interesting experiment, because it didn’t start out as an experiment. It was a joke, that slowly turned into reality. Like Donald Trump running for president, or me live Tweeting all of R.Kelly’s “Trapped in the Closet”.

Expect semi-regular updates as I ruminate on what it’s like to never wear real pants. Perhaps in a month I’ll long for some jeans, or perhaps I’ll discover that jeans are just leg prison and I don’t need to bother myself with them any longer.

So far I’ve noticed how lucky I am to be jumping into this endeavor in Southern California, because it’s currently 20 degrees in my hometown. Attempting to go sans-pants for this long in below freezing temperatures would certainly result in minor frostbite. Or, could present an entirely different challenge.

I’m also still struggling with where shorts fall into this experiment. They’re not full pants, but all of mine involve buttons and zippers. Hallmarks of the prison that is pants. But that’s a problem for another day.

To end this short introduction to my year without pants I give you a photo of day 2.

Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 10.00.35 AM

Thigh highs are my new best friends.

Leave a Reply

